Skip to content
March 12, 2013 / Patti Bryant

Irish I Was Irish; Irish For You…

I loved being Irish growing up.

There is something  wrong with that thought…

I’m probably not even Irish.  Irished I was Irish.  ;-) I used to dye my hair green for March 17.  I used to wear “Kiss me I’m Irish” buttons and shirts.  I loved it when I found orange clothes to wear. That would  confuse people who didn’t understand the significance of green v. orange.  I used to be so proud that I could say- even if I didn’t wear any green clothing- I always have green on because my eyes are green.  It was surprising how many people had to double check to make sure, as if I could lie about the colour of my eyes.

Happy St. Pattis Day 2013

I still get a silly kick out of saying “Happy St. Patti’s Day”.  It’s not because I think I’m a saint -we know I’m not- but because I like the idea of having a world renown holiday for ‘me’.  LOL

There are so many wonderful and thoughtful things about Irish heritage and folklore I think.   I love reading stories to my children;  wives’ tales and lore of the Emerald Isle.  Even still, I think my oldest two would snuggle up with us for a Tomie  dePaola book about St. Patrick, Fin M’Coul or another favourite, Jamie O’Rourke and the Pooka. 

clover banner 3-12-13

Another thing about Irish lore I appreciate is all the fabulous “prayers” and “blessings”.   Here’s a good one:

May the good saints protect you
And bless you today
And may troubles ignore you
Each step of the way

How about this one?

May good luck be your friend
In whatever you do
And may trouble be always
A stranger to you

Of course, there are plenty of  limericks too.

There was a young man of Killarney,
Who was chock full of what is called
blarney;
He would sit on a stile
And tell lies by the mile
Would this dreadful young man of Killarney.

This one blessing I especially like.

Dance as if no one were watching.

Sing as if no one were listening.

Live everyday as if it were your last.

clover banner 3-12-13

This blessing Irish for you.

May your blessings outnumber
The Shamrocks that grow
And may trouble avoid you
Wherever you go.

Have a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Patti green name 1-21-13

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 805 other followers

